Keizo Kitajima/北島敬三
「Untitled Records vol. 11」

Keizo Kitajima/北島敬三 「Untitled Records vol. 11」

Keizo Kitajima/北島敬三
「Untitled Records vol. 11」


カテゴリー: タグ: ,



1979年に都市の人間模様を写した『写真特急便 東京』No. 1〜No. 12でデビューを果たした北島敬三が、ふたたび連続写真展と写真集をスタートします。時代も1970年代とは大きくかわり、1991年のソ連崩壊と冷戦の終結以降、ネオリベラリズムの台頭と自由主義経済のグローバル化、コンピューターネットワークとサプライチェーンの拡充、ショック・ドクトリンとあらゆるジャンルで進められる市場開放、世界各地で頻発する内戦や終わりの見えない地域紛争、とりわけ日本においては、2011年に起きた東日本大震災と福島の原発事故をとおして、私たちは「目の前の現実が、突然何か別のものに姿を変えてしまうような経験」を幾度も積み重ねてきました。北島はとくに、三陸と福島の被災地の撮影をとおして、抜き差しならない目の前の現実と、何処からともなく侵入してくるイメージの圧倒的な現実性とを区別することが不可能なことを改めて実感したといいます。
私たちはすでに、かつてのように単眼的なパースペクティブで世界を把握、受容することがきわめて困難な時代の中にいるのかもしれません。この連続写真集『UNTITLED RECORDS』は、こうした時代の向来向後の視覚資料になることを目的としています。


北島敬三連続写真集「Untitled Records vol. 11」

▼【5月9日より発売】プリント付Special Editon

UNTITLED RECORDS is a new series of photographic booklets conceived by Keizo Kitajima, which will compose a collection of more than twenty issues, published four times per year. This kind of project is not unexpected for Kitajima, who already began his photographic career in 1979 with twelve issues of Photo Express Tokyo , in which he vividly portrayed the men and women filled with an urban atmosphere of that period. But our time differs profoundly from the 1970s: the collapse of the USSR and the end of the Cold War, the liberal economy booming worldwide, the Internet network and supply chain spread everywhere, the shock doctrine and market liberalization in all areas, civil and local conflicts bogging down here and there, etc. Regarding Japan, the aftermath of the 2011 Tohoku earthquake and of Fukushima nuclear accidents is always cruel and insistent. All these events have often given the impression that the reality in front of us turned suddenly into another thing entirely unfamiliar. While photographing the stricken area in Fukushima and Sanriku, Kitajima realized that the staggering reality before him was not free from the influence of the permeating images, which had also an overwhelming reality. We are in an era where a single and objective point of view might not be enough to observe and understand the world. The UNTITLED RECORDS series gives us a visual document of this era: a graphic testimony that will allow us to reflect on the past and future of our time. It contains photos taken around Japan, from Hokkaido to Okinawa, including damaged areas in Sanriku and Fukushima.

Keizo Kitajima Untitled Records Vol. 11
Book release date: May 9, 2017
16 pages, Soft cover
Published by KULA
price: 2,160 yen (tax included)

*Special Editon with a print
Price: ¥32,400 (tax included)
limited edition of 12
c- print
housed in a folding box
image size: 17.7 x 22.2 cm
paper size: 19.9 x 24.4cm
each print is signed and numbered